Klimt Info

Gustav Klimt´s Feldmühlgasse

Studio 1911–1918


After Gustav Klimt had to give up his studio situated in the backyard of a house in the Josefstädter Straße in Vienna’s 8th district in 1911, he found a picturesque summer house in the 13th district through a fellow artist, which he used as a studio and at times also as a home from August 1911 until his death in 1918. In this refuge the artist created around fifty paintings as well as hundreds of drawings. Situated in the Feldmühlgasse 11, the studio became a private meeting place for numerous of his fellow artists, with many of them, including Felix Albrecht Harta and Egon Schiele, living close by.

After Klimt’s death, the artist’s favorite photographer Moritz Nähr captured several views of the studio, including the reception room as well as the famous photograph of the studio with the two unfinished works "Lady with Fan" and "The Bride" on the easel. Egon Schiele and Emilie Flöge tried in vain to save the studio. In 1923 the small Biedermeier house was built over with a neo-baroque villa.

The Gustav Klimt Memorial Society has been trying since the 1990s to preserve the studio and its gardens and to prevent the area from being used for property development. In May the Klimt Society was awarded the EU prize for cultural heritage, the Europa Nostra Award, in the category "Dedicated Services". The Klimt studio has been intensively refurbished over the past years and is now accessible to the public.

The Gustav Klimt Memorial Society
www.klimt.at

Klimt Villa
www.klimtvilla.at